Home > I Changed My Mind > (FIXED) I NEED WORDPRESS USER HELP: FOLLOWERS, PLEASE COME TO MY AID

(FIXED) I NEED WORDPRESS USER HELP: FOLLOWERS, PLEASE COME TO MY AID

EDIT: I’M ALIVE!  ORDER HAS BEEN RESTORED TO MY PERSONAL UNIVERSE (which just so happens to have all of your universes revolving around my universe, not particularly on a superiority level, but because my universe has STD-free strippers that serve ice cream at Ben & Dippin’-Coldstone-Robbins stores on every corner).   For all other WP users that ever encounter this error described below where you can’t write comments on anyone’s blog anymore, I sent off a request to Akismet that they may have blocked my username and I got a reply saying that it [should] have now been fixed [and it is…. no real reason to say “should” now, but I wanted to quote them as accurately as possible, why would I want to blame myself?]

It has come to this.  My last desperate attempt to get a troubling WordPress user issue heard.  Followers, I need you now.  Save me (you can pretend you’re Superman and I’m some helpless victim wearing a white flowing wedding gown complete with a dark beard…. not that I’d do that, but hell if you help me you can imagine whatever you want).

In the past month something has apparently changed and cut me off from the populous.  I have been trying to comment on my favorite blogs, and others too, but I don’t believe any of these comments are going through.  On sites that required author approval before allowing a comment to be posted, WP would at least show me my comment with a status of  “Comment Pending Approval”.  However, now whatever I write simply doesn’t go anywhere, and without warning.  I’m writing comments through PC using Firefox or on Safari from my iPhone4 and yet neither transmit.

I know I’m not crazy, because again I’m no longer getting the Pending Approval status, but I have also been commenting on all of your blogs with things like, Sheena / Papa / Hooky / Frugalista / Lauren, please reply to this comment if you’re actually seeing it; I’m having commenting restrictions apparently. Help a crazy genius out before more hair is pulled.” (there’s a free shout-out for some of you haha).  I’ve been doing this for a week or two, along with actual legitimate comments regarding their posts, and no responses.  My voice has been cut short.

AND HERE’S THE KICKER:  Today I finally had enough and tried to submit a Support trouble ticket pleading for help.  After I clicked Send I immediately got sent to this page that shows two interesting (yet fucking baffling… see the anger rising?):

  • TOPIC CLOSED
  • This Topic has been closed to new replies
  • Topic started 42 years ago by Anonymous

WWHAATTTTTT THEEEE HEEELLLLLLLLL~!!?!?!?!    I tried to send support a message twice and I got the same results. I’m stranded with this as my last chance to reach a lifeboat (and other means of survival say I was staring in the sequel of Castaway, but extremely more boring… same beard though).

Friends, followers, countrymen, inmates, outmates, circus-freaks, and mimes please help me now.  Please try to contact Support referencing this post and my dilemma as apparently I can’t even talk to WP Support to get them to help.  If anybody has a phone number for WP Support or other means, please pass it along.

I want to get back to writing on your posts, sharing thoughts, but I’m being silenced without a culprit to blame.

…..and write your comments on this post to let me know if you’ve tried to help…. hopefully I’ll actually get those :/

PS: last request, if you can be extra helpful, send me an email to either forbettergenius@vt.edu or blackhairjake@yahoo.com to let me know.  I don’t even care if I get spam email now to these public addresses if it means I can get this issue resolved.

  1. 2012/03/21 at 2:26 pm

    Did best I could… Submitted!

    Thank you! Your message is flying through cyberspace to us as you read this. We will get back to you as soon as we can.

    Used your vt.edu address

    • 2012/03/21 at 3:02 pm

      Thanks! (who knows if you’ll even get this thanks…)

      • 2012/03/21 at 3:07 pm

        message received… 🙂 you know, i’m going to have to start following you just to see what happens. just stumbled on your post by chance today.

  2. 2012/03/21 at 3:59 pm

    The exact same thing happened to me last weekend beginning Saturday. I was up in arms because WordPress Support is closed on weekends. All of my comments were going to spam as I believe yours are too. I contacted Akismet from my profile page and let them know what was happening and they fixed it same day. Let me know what happens please. I hope it helps.

    • 2012/03/21 at 5:30 pm

      so it seems I can comment on my own post at least.

      so would akismet i guess block all of my posts maybe going out to other sites? i guess that’s perfectly valid as it may have written down my user name as a threat and prevents anything from going through

      • 2012/03/21 at 5:47 pm

        I don’t think this is intentional. Akismet fixed the problem right away. I could comment on my own blog as well. Just let them know and by tomorrow you will be able to post comments again.

      • 2012/03/21 at 5:49 pm

        I sent a Support mail thread to Akismet so we’ll see what they turn up. That is something that could potential be the cause that I’m reported as spam to all blogs (maybe somebody was trying to teach me a lesson about blog trolling?? i’m not thattttt bad haha… b/c really, I’m not going to comment if your posts aren’t either A) interesting or B) you’re a disrespecting idiot to the world at large

        • 2012/03/21 at 5:54 pm

          and because i can’t comment on your site yet hahaha, i’ll do it here.
          on your thoughts about clicking the Like button, I’ve structured my posts with the More tags (most of the time) such that you don’t see an entire post from the home page and are hopefully enticed to continue reading. I’d actually suggest you do the same, because if they’re interested they’ll continue on in to the link. Otherwise, the casual viewer won’t see the Like button on your home page where they just read the entire post and your individual page hits will only show your Home page b/c nobody is clicking on the post itself.

          • 2012/03/23 at 3:05 pm

            It seems that not every blogger knows about the Read Blogs tab on the WordPress landing page (http://wordpress.com/#!/read/). That is what both posts were about. Not the legitimate visitors who want to read your posts. Check out that page and my second post on the subject to see what I mean. I am happy you are able to leave comments once again.

  3. 2012/03/23 at 10:56 am

    Hey hon, I have gotten your comments you made the other day on my latest post, I even responded. I was wondering what happened to ya, so I specifically went to your blog to see if your;s was up. Well, that explains it!

  4. 2012/03/29 at 1:35 am

    Odd–I found one of your comments in my spam filter, even though it was from a few days ago and it wasn’t there yesterday. o.O Perhaps you were stranded in the web’s Bermuda Triangle…

  5. 2012/05/15 at 11:42 am

    This is probably going to sound really dumb but who or what is Akismet and how do I contact them. Have a friend who uses wp who is having the same problem. thanks.
    – Karen

    • 2012/05/15 at 12:11 pm

      Akismet is a spam blocker many WordPress sites use as a widget to block comments and other spammy things (what a looping definition that was). They’re definitely what has caused this problem twice for me now.
      Send Akismet a support message saying that your blog username has been blocked because your comments are never remotely shown and they’ll check if you’ve been flagged

  6. 2012/05/15 at 12:14 pm

    Thanks you’re a star 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

