Home > I Changed My Mind > The Long Overdue Acceptance And Recognition- Round 2

The Long Overdue Acceptance And Recognition- Round 2

I have a blog. That was an obvious statement. I still hate the word “blog” due to it’s bubbly and slightly pretentious pronunciation (in my personality-acute ears). I also rarely get straight to the point of a post, but alas I’ve been mindlessly putting off this acceptance speech for a few weeks now since being twice awarded the Versatile Blogger Award as well as my second Liebster Award all in one fell swoop (it’s a perk of being continuously amazing and sarcastically egotistical). Most recent thanks, respectively, to FrugalistaBlogDotCom, I’m Not Famous And Neither Are You, and still one of my favorites, EyeLaugh.

First, there were two back-to-back awards of the

I'd like to thank the person that one time gave me a thing that made me motivated to pretend to be confident in rickety bridge bungee jumping but luckily never had the opportunity.

 And then there was my second

For Better GENiUS

...you have to admit, one of these looks like it's been sloppily created on Word (hint: mine is the slippery one from my first award acceptance)

Now onto the huge meat of my package, and by package I mean the Versatile Blogger Award’s mandatory list of 7 things that you might not have known about me, but should because there’ll be a oral test at the end so I hope you’re taking notes. And if you are getting an uneasy feeling, get your mind out of the strip club gutter (there’s only enough room for one of us at a time).

  1. I over analyze pretty much everything, most commonly when reading into what people say or their body language.
  2. Because of #1, I may often second guess my actions. I do not approve of this… which kind of boggles the mind.
  3. I watch stand-up comedy videos (or live, if have the option) more often than I watch TV or movies.
  4. I’ve spent seven years enrolled Virginia Tech finally settling with a BS in Industrial & Systems Engineering. I’m not ashamed about the number of years spent and often mention it in other articles that I’ve been linking throughout this list item.
  5. I’ve also received a Geosciences (Geology) Minor because I simply liked playing with rocks and minerals, and ended up starting a collection.
  6. Had a 2yr band 3GM, own electric and acoustic guitars, own drums, own bass guitar, own violin, did two Bob Ross style landscape paintings, made some other more abstract paintings, created and sold jewelry for a while, and I’m always working on landscape/city photography.
  7. Above all, I’m one of the nice guys. Sounds weak, but you’ll enjoy it.

And as per my duties to nominate others blogs, I shall, but I may not be handing out the number suggested (15 for Versatile and 5 for Liebster). These chain awards fulfill their duty to bring at least a little more web traffic a site, but to be honest most of what I read in the Humor tag (my primary loitering hang-out corner) is stuff I’d find in the outdated pages of a Reader’s Digest. That is to say, content that I don’t follow or subscribe to. I don’t promise laughs by any means, and I’ll take criticism, but there’s many a blog that I find to be nothing more than a lighthearted dinner-table discussion about what cute thing some kid did that you perceived as a funny story. Tell me something intriguing; something that’ll make me truly think for a minute for an experience that’s unlike standard television. To this note, here’s my nominees:

The Versatile Blogger Award goes to:
The Drinking Hat
They maintain a respectively massive number of followers, but there’s probably good reason for that.

The Versatile Blogger Award goes to:
Facehookin’
I don’t care if Sheena has gotten this prestigious accolade yet, because either way she’s getting it again and she’s gonna like it as much as her first time while slowly whispering just how big the award image is that I’m giving to her… and green.

The Versatile Blogger Award goes to:
http://mikesilvia.wordpress.com/
Mike Is Happy. Relatively. Last I Heard.

The Liebster Award goes to:
Funny or Tragic
Let her crudely-drawn pictures tell the story. Crude isn’t always a bad thing.

The Liebster Award goes to:
How To Act Nervous
I’ve come across this site multiple times and I’m never quite sure what’ll be posted next.

The Liebster Award goes to:
http://papaschoice.wordpress.com/
I hope by now there’s already an award buried amongst his posts, but in-case he hasn’t had that recognition yet…

I’d suggest that if any of these recipients have the desire to properly continue spreading that 60’s love vibe, then you should do a quick search for other Versatile or Liebster Award blogs that actually followed the prescribed schtick before you do your own obligatory write-up and not follow my example.

There are many more blogs roaming around WordPress that have manage to maintain the level of interest needed to keep me reading, but many of them have already been awarded and I’m not going to be purposefully whoring them out like a neighborhood buy-one-get-one hooker emporium. Write well. Earn it. Make me laugh. After all, if Dana Carvey’s 2002 Master of Disguise, rated a measly 3/10, had enough funny parts to have me sporadically quoting them to this day, a few words or images on a page can’t be that hard. Ready, annddddd GO! Get to work. Slacker.

PS: After having a semi-minor rant about people’s inappropriate use of tags, I was going to be extra careful today not to follow in other’s missteps. However, there’s at least 3 new posts tagged in the Humor section regarding food and/or recipes, so I give up. This long-winded award ceremony is going into Humor as well. “And as you can see from our PowerPoint presentation, Suck It…” – Daniel Tosh.

If you like spending mind-numbing hours watching celebrities receive awards, then you can probably spare a few more minutes on the couch skimming through the FBG Award Challenge

  1. 2012/02/01 at 6:33 pm

    Well it’s about fuckin’ time. Thanks for the mention. I’m looking forward to check out the ones you mentioned. And by the way, nice guys finish first. It’s good.
    OH and the tagging thing you mentioned- sometimes I just scratch my head at what people tag. I’m going to write a blog on beauty pageants and tag it under cats just for fun.

  2. 2012/02/02 at 12:26 am

    Sshweeeet! Of course, I do find it a little funny that the day I decide to broach the topic of blowjobs, I get awards and more readers than ever. 😉 The powers that be must be men.

  3. 2012/02/02 at 12:54 am

    Thanks! I am flattered. I also find most pasta recipes to be completely hilarious.

  4. 2012/02/04 at 4:47 am

    Well put.

  5. 2012/02/04 at 3:27 pm

    Congrats man. Way to go!

  6. 2012/02/05 at 9:09 am

    Congrats! Great shares!

  7. 2012/02/08 at 10:02 pm

    Thanks hon, I like the racy overtones, very hot and green too.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

