Home > Random Ramblings > What Do You Say When You’re Leaving? <– my newest Letter to the Editor in the VT C.T. newspaper

What Do You Say When You’re Leaving? <– my newest Letter to the Editor in the VT C.T. newspaper

Thanks UD.

What do you say to a college life that you’re leaving behind?

What if it’s been longer than the traditional come-and-go four year routine?

Do you wave it goodbye with a gingerly twist of the hand or do you wave it goodbye with a faint nod and an undertone appreciation for the time well spent?

Blacksburg, I will give you my all.

I will focus my energy, my strict attention to none other than my alma mater.

I’ve already written plenty in the past about my home away from home, but try to stop me from doing it a second, third, or thousandth time.

I will be eternally proud of my family of fellow Hokies; they may not be of blood relation, but they will pass on a story that will not go without notice.  They will pass on a legacy without prejudice.

They will pass on what is best in all of us, and we will prevail over that which attempts to bring us down.

Do you remember that day?  Do you remember that day when we overcame our worst nightmares and embraced one another as a nation that bleed orange and maroon deeper than we ever thought possible?

Do you remember that day when our chant emerged from the depths of our frightful lungs?

Do you remember that day when we screamed, “Let’s Go, Hokies!” after a speech that left us tearful but after holding our chins up high?

We’ve seen it all.  We’ve started small.

We’ve grown from our military and agricultural roots to our place among the highest nationally ranked universities in a number of fields.

We’ve stood the test of time for more than a century.  We’ve made it clear what we aim to accomplish.  We’re going to invent the future.

Blacksburg, my heart goes out to you.  You’ve given me more than I could have ever expected, more than I ever could have asked for, and more than I can handle without drawing a cheerful tear to my eye every time I think about my Virginia Tech.

I don’t know where you’ve come from.

I don’t know where you’ve gone.  I don’t know what you may be affiliated with.  I don’t know what you may stand behind and what you may defend.

All I know is right now I want to be hearing Enter Sandman play from our loud speakers.  I can’t wait to return.

I can’t wait to get that chill down my spine whenever I hear my Hokies strongly support the school that brought us all together.

And yet I’ll wait for years to come.

I’ll wait patiently day by day until I can again be in Lane Stadium to see our football team come onto the field.

I’ll wait patiently day by day until I can again be in Cassell Coliseum to see our basketball team dominate the court.

Whether near or far, I’ll give an unpressured enthusiastic smile every time I hear “Hokies,” and I’ll be missing my home away from home.

<– This article of mine was printed in the Thursday, July 7th, 2011 edition of the Virginia Tech Collegiate Times in Blacksburg, VA.  Thanks again to our local newspaper for the support and for publishing my second Letter To The Editor.

  1. 2011/07/10 at 2:22 am

    I wanted to share some of the comments I’ve received from my Letter:

    “That gives me chills. I miss VT!! We should try to go to a game this fall. ”
    “Great piece of work. ”
    “I was never big into the whole Hokie thing. Never went to a single game in my four years at Tech. I was too busy with real life to get caught up in college life. So I don’t feel the same way about Tech as you.
    However, I never realized how much I enjoyed living in Blacksburg until I left 2 months ago. I took for granted just how great the New River Valley really is. Right now I’m stuck in the middle of a city surrounded by the traffic and sounds of half a million people. I miss Blacksburg so much. I miss the four summers I spent in Blacksburg. I miss that area a lot.”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

