Home > Random Ramblings > Our VT

Our VT

There is a place adorned in local dolomitic limestone from the bare Earth beneath our feet to the rolling valley skyline of a calm mountain backdrop.  There is a place where two simple colors course through the veins of some 30,000 plus individuals on an annual basis.  There is a place that proudly bleeds Chicago Maroon and Burnt Orange.

There is a place where young, eager minds have come together since 1872 to further themselves.  There is a place filled with a rightful pride and respect that is never left behind and never rudely overbearing.  There is a place where long lasting friends are made, families are created, and good times are had.  There is a place where memories will be made with every visit.

There is a place of deep grief and sadness.  There is a place that will forever remember what happened on April 16, 2007 in the hearts of those that were there and those to come.  There is a community like no other.  There is a community that you can’t help but be a part of when you take your first walk across its Drillfield.  There is a nation of its own kind.

I write this on behalf of my own graduation from my school.  I write this on behalf of my home away from home.  I write this to honor Virginia Tech.  I write this for every student that has shared the momentous graduation weekend of 2011 with me.  I write this for every student who has already come and gone.  I write this for every student who is eagerly awaiting the day they become a Hokie.  I write this for every student that doesn’t yet know where they want to be, but is hopeful for what their future may hold.  I write this for every faculty member that has taught in our lecture halls and classrooms.  I write this for every independent researcher who has furthered the fundamental understanding of our world.  I write this for every employee that has helped make our beloved campus what it is.  I write this for the opportunity we’ve had to become a part of something better than what we knew when we arrived.

Congratulations to the Graduation Class of 2011.

There is a place where someone screaming “Let’s Go!” at the top of their lungs will always hear “Hokies!” in a most excited and boisterous reply.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

