Home > Random Ramblings > Lá Féile Páraic – St. Patrick’s Day

Lá Féile Páraic – St. Patrick’s Day

Pionta beor ghlas, le do thoil.  Beannachtaí na Féile Páraic oraibh!  An bhfuil tú dálta fós?   …agus tabhair ‘om póg, is Éireannach mé 😛

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!  Possibly the most fun “holiday” of the year.  Unfortunately, I do not have any new stories for you right now, but by the end of the night, who knows… maybe you’ll get lucky.
I did, however, get two henna temporary tattoos (see below) drawn on recently as a test to see how much I could stand having something permanently on my skin.  I was never an eager one to get inked, but I knew if it was something original and related to my life then I may allow it.

I’ve never known any direct percentages to report on my heritage, but it seems to be widely believed that I’m Indian (Cherokee), Scottish, and Irish (at least those are the only main ones I consider relevant).  My mother’s and my dark hair and the bridge on my nose being flat would be the most relevant Indian physical traits, and I’ve been impatiently trying to track down a lineage for a while (…so basically once a year I’ll look up family trees for about an hour and then move on to something else).

[Modern-style] Celtic Knot… I actually like this one a lot

modern celtic knot

Shamrock with Celtic Trinity Knots and a [Flint] Arrowhead
trinity shamrock arrowhead

If you know anything about these month-long temporary henna tattoos, it is basically just staining your skin for the impression of a tattoo until it wears off.  The pics are of the henna mush still on my skin, but now all the dark residue crusty junk has been taken off for the main light-orangeish “tattoo” below it (no pics).

Anyways, St. Patrick’s Day blessings to you.  Beannachtaí na Féile Páraic oraibh!… you’ll have to translate the rest on your own ;D  I’m going to start out my traditional night watching The Boondock Saints as I always do, and I’ll be sure to be speaking the Gaelic above and everything else in my Irish/Scottish accent all night inevitably annoying everyone.  I can’t wait.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

