Home > The Goofy Book 3: Writing Experiments > Hokie Pride Shows On Strong Saturday <- Printed in VT’s C.T. Paper

Hokie Pride Shows On Strong Saturday <- Printed in VT’s C.T. Paper

(My following article got printed in a “Letter To The Editor” in Virginia Tech’s Collegiate Times, 03-01-2011)

What is it to be a part of an institution, to be a part of a living, breathing entity that you can’t fully describe, you can’t quite measure, but you know is there? For me, and many others like me, this is what Virginia Tech is like.

Before I came to college I never cared about football, basketball or any other sport that I wasn’t formally involved in. I even remember bits and pieces of a conversation I had with my mom when I was moving into the dorms as we passed Lane Stadium, and she mentioned the spirit and pride the students had for the school. I told her that maybe I’d go to a game or two, but I doubted that I’d ever get into it all.

Now nearly seven years later while finishing one last class (yes, I may be a real-life version of a Van Wilder, if you please — and if you find me a golf cart) the spirit of Tech is more well known in me than I would have ever imagined possible.

To be in Blacksburg, to live in this town and to be around these people, is like no other experience I would have found elsewhere. To be a Hokie is simply that. There are no other words you could attribute to describing what you are for the rest of your life — you are a Hokie no matter where you go.

I’m sure every school has a sense of continued loyalty and pride and I won’t try to take that away from you non-Hokie readers, but Saturday was all about the orange and maroon. Football season has every student scrounging to find the equivalent of a Willy Wonka Golden Ticket. The parking lots become a sea of tents, barbecues grills and tailgate games. We can walk downtown in our home land and sporadically yell, “Let’s Go” to always be followed by a passionate “Hokies” coming from a random stranger on the street. The same can even be said for the ACC Championship Game when we Hokies take over the hosting city.

Aside from the ever popular football program, the basketball games are nothing short of a riot and it unfortunately took me years to learn this. Saturday night we took out the now formerly-No. 1 Duke 64–60 in a game that can only be associated with terms such as “epic” or “exciting.”

Being present in Cassell Coliseum or Lane Stadium when Enter Sandman blasts through the speakers is the ultimate rush, but without a ticket I couldn’t even ask for anything better than being surrounded by my fellow Techies at the bar. The entire room erupted with cheers after every sunk basket that brought us closer to the stunning victory, but as the game clock struck zero the bar became an explosion of fans proud for their team. Virginia Tech — I wouldn’t have you any other way.

Beware of the Hokie Pride.

Gobble Gobble, Bitches.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

